Truth

Having the same conversation over and over again with people who just aren’t quite understanding the depth of faith that is required of a Christian. That’s what I’ve been doing for a while it seems. It’s really interesting to me that reading the Bible and understanding its message are really two different things.

Hearing the saying that people have different truths in their lives but we all end up in the same place gets under my skin. What you mean to say is that people have different interpretations of the same thing, but those interpretations may or may not be the truth. We all have the ability to be deceived by something because we choose to believe what’s easier in our own minds. After all, so many different religions all around the world basically worship the same God, right? That’s the deception and people are falling into that trap left and right.

It may be the same idea of God, but it’s not the same God Who created us. The message may be of love and tolerance, but if that’s the case, why is there so much hate in the world? I know a lot of so-called Christians who fall into that category, by the way, and I believe they are just as deceived as anyone else.

Here’s what I see as truth. Love God with all your heart and all your soul and all your mind. Love Jesus Christ, the Son of God. Love your neighbor. Recognize that God is love and let Him (love) live in you. Live by the words of Jesus and take them as food for your soul. Jesus never went out into the world and accused other people and their religions of anything. What He did was show God’s glory through His life. He loved everyone He encountered and if they chose not to believe, He let them go because He knew it was their choice to believe. Calling them names or banning them from His presence was not how He operated and it still isn’t. He didn’t judge them, He only gave them the necessary information for them to make a decision and then allowed their choice to judge them after it was all said and done. John 2: 23 During the time He was in Jerusalem, those days of the Passover Feast, many people noticed the signs He was displaying and, seeing they pointed straight to God, entrusted their lives to Him.

He did, however, explain the consequences of nonbelief. John 3:18 Anyone who trusts in Him is acquitted; anyone who refuses to trust Him has long since been under the death sentence without knowing it. Any why? Because of that person’s failure to believe in the one-of-a-kind Son of God when introduced to Him. (Msg).

You see? It’s so simple that we make it hard. The truth is right there for us to have but only a few people really take advantage of it. The rest of us take bits and pieces to satisfy our flesh and then we leave the rest (the really good parts) for the shelves to collect dust. We have this need to make everyone around us happy but we don’t bother being concerned with making God happy with our lives. That’s proof right there that we really don’t trust Him because we aren’t thinking of how our actions might disagree with what He has been trying to teach us all along. Essentially, we’re not thinking of eternity, we’re only thinking of ten minutes from now.

Jesus said, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to Father except through Me.” I’d say that’s pretty simple and yet we still find reasons to convince ourselves that there are other ways to God without trusting in Jesus completely. Jesus lived for eternity and whatever happened to His flesh, didn’t make Him quiver with fear or run and hide. He took it because He knew it was temporary but life with the Father is eternal.

Okay so now you know what I believe is truth. I’m not condemning or looking down on anyone else, but I also will not concede that what another person believes is true also. I can’t, just like they can’t either. Why? Because if I do that, then I am saying that I really don’t believe in my truth. There is no gray area here. If I believe in the truth of Jesus then I cannot say that your truth in something else is true. That is hypocrisy. What I can say, however, is that I love you no matter what you believe, just like Jesus loves you. I will not compromise my truth for you, because my truth is my love for Jesus, but I will allow you to make your own choice and love you just the same.

Leave a Reply

