Belief

How strong is belief really? Why is it so hard to understand? More than that, why is it so hard to believe? I mean, stop and look at yourself. If you are like me, you have good days and then you have bad days. Some days, you feel the strength in God within you so powerfully that you know that nothing will stop you. On other days, though, you look at your life through fogged lenses. You just don’t see clearly God’s purpose, even for that one day and you’re just kind of left standing there, shuffling your feet wondering which way to go.

How does this happen? Shouldn’t you, once you have the revelation, be able to go into each day with the same confidence you had the day before? I have found that if we’re not careful, we will fall into the trap of thinking that the prior day’s worship and meditation will carry over for every day beyond. That is definitely not the case. We have to deliberately put on the whole armor of God each day before we step out into life. If we don’t, we are vulnerable to doubt and unbelief.

I have heard many teachings about the armor of God and they are quite inspiring. But I have learned that unless I really study it and participate in the actual dressing of myself with this armor each and every day, those teachings do me absolutely no good. It’s like Jesus’ parable about the seeds being sown. You’ve got good seed that grows and thrives, you’ve got seed that was thrown in shallow ground that grows but is quickly squashed out because it’s not being fed to grow good roots, and then you have the seed that’s thrown into the thorns where it’s immediately choked.

The seed is all good when it’s thrown but where it lands determines whether it will grow and thrive or it will lay there and just die. We are the ground and if we don’t take care of the seed that’s thrown our way, the seed not only dies but eventually so will we. I have found that on some days, I am pretty good ground and the seed I have been given grows inside of me and produces confidence and faith. Then, on other days, my ground is not so receptive and the seed I receive is pretty much wasted because I don’t give it the value it deserves. I fight to have more good ground days than bad ones, but it is definitely a battle.

So where am I going with all this? Faith only comes from the acting of what we learn in study. We can’t learn anything if we don’t receive it and nurture it, like good ground. I mean, look at it this way, if I believe I’m going to fail a test, then I probably will. Why? Because, I have put all my energy into focusing on failing the test. I fed that belief and it will most likely come true (unless there is Divine Intervention in order to show me that God is still there, but I wouldn’t learn a lesson if that were to happen). The same thing happens if I believe I am going to pass that test. Again, I put all my energy into focusing on passing the test through studying and thinking positively. I fed that belief and again, it will most likely come true, unless I allow the spirit of doubt to overtake any confidence I have built. At least I have an opportunity to learn a valuable lesson if that were to happen.

This is how I view each day. It’s a test of whatever extent. It could just be a little quiz or it could be a major exam. If I am prepared with the right knowledge that God has set before me and I nurture it so that it takes root within my heart, then I will pass and I believe God will be pleased.

I have been going through a major exam this last month. At first I thought I might fail it, but I have devoted my heart and mind to learning all I can about how much I really have through Christ. I have authority through Him, I have power through Him to have peace no matter what the circumstances. How is that so? Because I choose Him over everything else that’s happening and as I let each day move through my life, I can see how strong belief really can be because it is growing within me. I am aware of the dangers surrounding me and yet I have the ability through Christ’s power to still the waters.

1 Peter 5:8-11  Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you. To Him be the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

