Spring

Spring is my favorite time of the year and I am so thankful to be experiencing another one. As I look at the trees outside my window with their tiny leaves forming and growing, each one having started as just a small bud appearing at the tip of a dead-looking limb, I see the significance of Easter and Passover and why they are celebrated during this time.

John 5:24  Most assuredly, ” I say to you, he who hears My word and believed in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, and shall not come into Judgment, but has passed from death into life”

When we hear the Word, a small bud forms in our dead hearts. When we study the Word and focus on loving God for Who He is and not what He can do for us, that bud grows into a tiny leaf. Each day, as the Son shines in our lives and we reflect His influence into the lives of those around us, the leaf inside our hearts continues to grow. Every moment of every day is an opportunity for us to give God the glory only He deserves.

Paul put it better than anyone. He said the he dies daily in order to live. So for him, it was a constant winter turning into spring. A whole day for him is the full year of seasons, where he wakes up and it’s winter, he starts his day with prayer, meditation and study, and the spring starts in his heart. As he goes through his day, he glorifies God with his faith, and that’s the summer of full blossoms and fiery heat (passion for God). Finally, as the day winds down, after reveling in God’s glory, he falls into a slumber where he rests and re-energizes for the next day, that’s autumn.

I look at those leaves growing, as the limbs continue to lift high as if in continual praise to God and I want my  life to be like that. Let my day be all four seasons, so that everything I do and think reflects the glory of God. Let His Son be my guide during the day and let my nights be filled with replenishing rest so that I may glorify Him with my spring blooms and summertime passion.

It’s just that simple, and yet each day is a challenge to meet all four of those seasons. The distractions and chaos surrounding me is enough to overwhelm me, but I will not give up. I will continue to focus each day on Him and let His miracles work in me.

 

Leave a Reply

