Let It Fade

If we were face to face with God’s glory every day, would we still value material things above Him? Of course the answer is no. The problem is, God’s full glory is so majestic and powerful that we, full of sin and rebellion, would immediately die if we were exposed to it, even for a second. God does reveal His glory to us, through all of His creation. We are able to gaze upon it because its reflection is not as overwhelming. It could be, if we allowed it to be, but we rarely take the time to fully meditate on all that He has created and the beauty and majesty of the individuality of everything.

Instead, we wake up and instantly have our minds filled with things we must do, or things we wish for or we are focused on ourselves somehow. Maybe we’re tired, feeling a little under the weather or just full of self-pity. We hunger to fill our flesh and completely ignore our spirit. What we fail to realize is when we fill our spirit with the nourishment of God’s Word, we allow God to provide for the filling of everything else. We don’t measure what material things we have because we are completely satisfied in Him and His fellowship.

Where are we, then? We are on the side of the fence playing with the toys that all of the popular kids have touted were the best and most important while we ignored the open field on the other side of the fence that offers complete freedom and joy to just be a kid. The popular kids have long gone, leaving us their scraps, making us think that we are on the path to happiness when each of us are desperately lonely inside but too afraid to admit it. We search for those special relationships with each other but never manifest because we are too judgmental of one another to let down our own guard. More than that, we know we’re missing something, but can’t quite put our finger on what exactly it is, and so….we buy something else.

I am starting a new practice each morning, because I see my desperation and don’t know how else to fill it. I am not just going to read my Bible and let it speak to me, I am going to meditate deeply on what I am reading. This means, for me at least, that I will be focusing on one word or possibly even a whole sentence at a time. It might take me 5 minutes or 30, but I am going to really focus on the small parts and pray for God to help me build that relationship with Him. I want to feel Him. I want to see Him. I want to let everything else go, let it fade in the background so that my eyes only see Him. I know how hard this will be for me, but I am determined to do it anyway.

Colossians 2:2-3 “that their hearts may be encouraged being knit together in love, and attaining to all riches of the full assurance of the understanding to the knowledge of the mystery of God both of the Father and of Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.”

 

Leave a Reply

