The Truth

I think. I think a lot. Sometimes, my thoughts become so deep that even I can’t convey them so that others can really understand. I don’t know what to call that. I can’t say it’s a gift, not yet at least. It is definitely something I need to work on. Anyway, that was my way of warning you that what I am about to say may get tangled up into some type of nonsense that leaves you scratching your head, should you decide to continue reading, that is.

For what purpose are we here on earth? Why did God create us? I firmly believe it is to be His companions, but I think that goes much deeper than we really give it credit. We are here to love one another just the way that God loves us, but we are really having a hard time doing that because our idea of love is scrambled. This is something that I have given a lot of thought to in the past few years, but have always had a hard time identifying precisely how to remedy it. I still don’t know, but I am a little closer, maybe.

It’s Christmas season and the advertisements for the great holiday sales are running back to back. The television shows one after another commercial showing that the only way to show your love is to give an expensive gift or toy, and that is really what everyone wants anyway. They are excited for Christmas because of the gifts they will receive. Honestly? I think it’s true because we have let the media convince us of that. (Well, not me anyway, but I’m only one person and it’s still a struggle every day)

I was reading in 1 Timothy where Paul brings it nicely together for me. Ch. 6, vs 3 says, “If anyone teaches otherwise and does not consent to wholesome words, even the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, and to the doctrine which accords with godliness, he is proud, knowing nothing, but is obsessed with disputes and arguments over words, from which come envy, strife, reviling, evil suspicions, useless wranglings of men of corrupt minds and destitute of the truth, who suppose that godliness is a means of gain. From such withdraw yourself. Now godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having good and clothing, with these we shall be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and harmful lusts which drown men in destruction and perdition. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, for which some have strayed from the faith in their greediness, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.”

Confused? We equate rich with having things. I even see evangelists who have things that are really unnecessary to spread the gospel. A Rolls Royce? Really? How does that convey to the homeless, hungry drug addict on the street that Jesus will save even him? It’s a car, that’s all it is and the rest of it is vanity. If there is a divine purpose to it, then I’m all for it, but don’t you think you should let the public know what exactly that divine purpose might be? An airplane might be a little more understandable, especially if it is used to carry supplies to areas of the world, but we don’t hear about that. What we hear about is how many people showed up for the latest “conference”. That tells me little to nothing, because we can call those people “converts” but if their lives are not truly changed from the inside out, then they aren’t really converted, are they? No, let’s do the practical things like feeding them, clothing them and loving them. If that is what all of these evangelists are primarily doing, then I’m all for the Rolls and airplanes. I know there are many who are doing exactly that, and they certainly don’t need to advertise it because what they are doing is between them and God. They need to be my example so I can go and do the same thing.

I guess that’s what been on my mind. The fact that we admire so many people for what they have,not for what they are doing. We give them credit for having gifts to dunk a basketball or portray a killer on screen rather than give God the credit for giving those gifts to us so we can enhance each other’s lives. We look at the things our neighbor has and cringe with envy rather than look at everything we have and realize that it ALL belongs to God. This material world is but a test for us to make us realize that our only true need is the love of God and everything else is fruitless. Even our physical lives mean nothing in the end because we will all pass on and meet our Creator face to face in spirit. That is when we will see the truth, but will it be too late?

Leave a Reply

