Conquerors

Have you ever read or heard someone talking about the ways of God and how to behave like a Christian? Have you ever just wanted to smack them? You get inspired by their way of explaining how simple being a Christian really is and you go away from it thinking, “I’ve got this”. But then you get out into the real world and immediately you are confronted with a situation that you have no control over and you think to yourself, “How am I supposed to react to the way everyone else is behaving around me?”  Love your neighbor….most times that easier said than done. Turn the other cheek when confronted with animosity……now that’s next to impossible for some people. The worst is when your very best friend won’t stop complaining about everything and you are the only person he will talk to.

The preachers and evangelists have a way of making everything sound so eloquent and simple, it’s true. Very few of them actually convey the emotional knee-jerk reaction that we all have when stuck in tight situations. Yes. We all have them. But that doesn’t mean we can’t control them. I have heard that from one preacher and the way she put it told me that she completely understood what I go through each time it happens. As a matter of fact, she made it seem like her reactions were just like someone very close to me.

This past month has been a series of trying events that have pushed my limits on patience. I have very seriously contemplated just packing up and going away for a week without telling anyone where I am going or when I will be back. The addiction to drama is overwhelming from where I stand and I have had just about as much of the drama in my immediate relations as I can take.

I cannot control how everyone around me reacts to whatever situation is rattling them. I can only control how I react to them. This is where I am having difficulties because I absolutely don’t like yelling, screaming, or any kind of angry voices. I despise curse words on top of it all. This is what I hear, though, when things go wrong and I just want to plug my ears and walk away.

No amount of cursing is going to make a situation any better. Not yelling, not kicking, punching, screaming, crying….none of it. I can understand a short outburst to  release some negative energy, but it doesn’t have to be any kind of word and it doesn’t have to last two hours. Beyond all of that, all of this complaining certainly does not have to be directed at the one person who is there trying to help because all it does it bring that person down.

Well, having said all of that, I am trying my best to focus on what it is I should be doing and not so much on what I should not be doing.

I will focus on praising God, because He is the one who has remained steady in my life through everything I have been through. Hebrews 13:15 Therefore by Him, let us continually offer the sacrifice of praise to God, that is , the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name.

Numbers 11:1  Now when the people complained, it displeased the Lord; for the Lord heard it, and His anger was aroused. So the fire of the Lord burned among them, and consumed some in the outskirts of the camp.

I will watch what comes out of my mouth. Proverbs 18:21  The tongue has the power of life and death and those who love it will eat its fruit.

Proverbs 11:9 With his mouth the godless destroys his neighbor but through knowledge the righteous escape.

Proverbs 13:3 He who guards his lips guards his life but he who speaks rashly will come to ruin.

1 Peter 3:10 For whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech.

There are many more like that and I am determined to use them to keep my attitude and emotions in check. This is the hardest battle I’ve encountered and I didn’t even realize it until now. Being susceptible to the habit of complaining and worrying is much easier than one may think. I have never been much of a worrier but when surrounded by worriers and then having to contend with their ricocheting emotions from one extreme to another, it has worn down my defenses and I am clinging to every ounce of positivity I can grasp.

If there’s anyone out there who can relate….I hope you know you’re not alone. I hope you know that no matter how easy the inspirational speakers make it sound, it’s hard and it never stops trying you. I’m here to tell you that I’m rooting for you. You may be the underdog, but I believe you can sink your teeth into the situation and conquer it.

Romans 8:37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.

 

Leave a Reply

