Passionate

“What are you passionate about?”  That’s the question I have been asking my son for the last year to help him find his way in life. Being the mother of a young adult, I never stopped to consider that I might need to be asking myself that very same question. What is my passion?

For the last 24 years, I have been devoted to my family, you might even say passionate, but that part of my life is coming to a crawl. It’s now just me and my husband and our business. Honestly, I am not passionate about our business. It has never been my dream to answer the phones and questions about our products. Don’t get me wrong, I actually enjoy my job because I have the luxury of making someone smile just by talking on the phone. I’m just saying that’s not what I am passionate about. I don’t get up in the morning in anticipation of answering the phone.

I do, however, enjoy helping people. It was always a bright side of my day when I got to go over to my friend, Jenny’s home to visit with her and to help her do whatever she needed done that day. Sometimes I would cook for her and sometimes I would clean. Sometimes we just did nothing but watch a silly show on Animal Planet and talk about how the trees sway back and forth outside her window. When she passed, I felt lost because she had grown into such a big part of my life.

Jesus talked about passion that made men make decisions that looked ludicrous to others. In Matthew, he gives a sterling example of such passion.

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid, and for joy over it goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.” (13:44)

That’s passion. To not only have the feeling for something so strongly but to do whatever is necessary to fulfill it. There are people out there who say they are passionate about things but never act upon that passion. We must be able to take the chance if we believe that strongly that we are supposed to be doing a certain task. If we are passionate about it, we must try to act on it even if it’s not easy.

Ever since Jenny passed, I have not gone out in search of another person who might benefit from my company. I have simply been too afraid. I’ve used the excuse that I’m needed at my business because I don’t like to answer the phone when I’m not in front of my computer  (even though I do it all the time). I know there are many people in my town who would use the company and the help, I just have to find them. I know it’s a simple thing and really there’s no glory in it (lucky for me that’s not what I’m after) but it warms my heart to know that I encouraged someone who wouldn’t have gotten encouragement otherwise.

So my next question is, am I willing to sell all that I have in order to have my treasure? Do I have the courage to take the steps necessary to put me in the position to help another person like I believe I helped Jenny? Am I ready to make a change in my life? Or am I going to remain complacent and let my fear of change be dominant? If that’s how I’m going to be then I can’t say I am passionate about anything, can I?

Leave a Reply

