Rotten Egg

“Last one in is a rotten egg!” Did you ever play that game? A group of you and your friends racing toward the pool to jump in and the leader of the pack yells it out while you are bringing up the rear. That surge of adrenaline pushes you to run faster, but usually it’s to no avail. You are the last one in and therefore, the rotten egg.

This game lasted all of about 10 seconds and once the race was finished, you and your friends moved on to the next game without skipping a beat. There was no ridicule or ostracizing, just some laughs and it was forgotten. Not even when the next game was being decided upon was there any reference to the “rotten egg” not having a say.

You, the rotten egg at the time, are just as accepted by your friends even after it has been decided that you were the last one in. You weren’t fast enough or you didn’t decide to jump in quickly enough, whatever the reason, you were the rotten egg for that particular time. Your friends didn’t hold a grudge against you, nor did they tell you that you couldn’t play any more games with them. They laughed with you, instead, and continued with the camaraderie.

As adults, are we the same way with our friends and acquaintances? Do we accept them even though they may not agree with us on every level? Perhaps they haven’t quite decided to become a Christian. Does that mean we ostracize them and not include them in any of our activities? Does that make them the rotten egg?

Paul writes to the Corinthians “Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness?”

I believe Paul is talking to Christians who are considering marrying someone who hasn’t committed to Christianity. That’s a tough one, especially for me, because when I married I wasn’t fully educated on what it means to be a Christian and now I am wondering where is my marriage in terms of honoring God? I honor God by honoring my marriage. Devoted to showing my husband the honor and respect that my God requires of me and above all, showing him my love in every small thing that I do.

1 Peter 3:1 is my guide in this: Wives, likewise, be submissive to your own husbands, that even if some do not obey the word, they, without a word may be won by the conduct of their wives when they observe your chaste conduct accompanied by fear.

Of course, “fear” means respect in this context, respect for your husband, marriage and above all, God. That’s what I intend to do. I don’t need to know the status of my husband (that’s a very hard statement!) because I trust God to guide him and show him the truth. While I really want to know, I know that I don’t need to know because God knows all and I trust God.

So, if that means that when it’s all said and done, my husband turns out to be a “rotten egg”, well, that’s okay. I might giggle a little, but that’s really out of glee for his life changing decision if that’s what he needs. My love for him will never change and we will move forward to the phase of our life together, with Jesus Christ as our guide.

Leave a Reply

