Deception?

Every once in a while, I will click on comments to some of the article I see on social media about a popular evangelist. It could be Joyce Meyer, Francis Chan or any of the guys down in Texas. I usually see derogatory comments about these people and their lifestyles. I always find that amusing, as if these spectators have purer hearts and have any knowledge about how these evangelists really live. I don’t think so.

You know the comments I’m talking about. The price tags on their homes, clothes, cars, etc. So what if they are driving a really expensive car? If you had the chance, do you think you wouldn’t at least think about it? As much as I love my 2009 Honda Civic, I would probably give it some serious thought to upgrading if I had that kind of money. But, then I remember all of the technology that’s installed in all of the newer models and I say, “No thanks”. Sorry. I just don’t want to be surveyed all the time. My Honda may already have devices in it that can provide such surveillance. Creepy to think about, I know, but it keeps me grounded.

Some of the comments, however, are just down right mean. They are talking about how these evangelists are deceiving the world. How is that? If they were really deceiving the world, then the world would be supporting these people like they do LeBron James. It would be all about how they are making a difference, and they would constantly be in the mainstream media showboating their good works. Granted, I don’t watch much TV, but I do watch and read the news….I never see their names in news stories. Not good, not bad, not ever.

The deception is how we view the material objects these people have acquired and we are jealous without realizing it. We think that God is that magic genie who will grant our three wishes, when we wish for it and we get mad when He doesn’t do it. How pathetic can we be? These evangelists are telling us that we need to have a real relationship with God, intimate, personal and full of love and respect. That doesn’t turn God into a magic genie for us but it will open our hearts and our eyes to see the Truth. That Truth is the treasure that Jesus talks about in His parables and when we finally see the Truth, we are willing to give everything else up in order to obtain it.

Paul wrote about these people who are constantly criticizing. “…he is conceited and understands nothing. He has an unhealthy interest in controversies and quarrels about words that result in envy, strife, malicious talk, evil suspicions and constant friction between men of corrupt mind, who have been robbed of the truth and who think that godliness is a means to financial gain.”

I encourage you to sit down and think about it, looking at yourself from an outside point of view. Do you judge others because they may be having the success that you wanted for yourself? Are you openly critical of other people who are enjoying peace and what you were hoping to accomplish? Try to remember that first, it’s not your responsibility to judge the world. You wouldn’t have enough energy to get through one country. Second, anyone who thinks he is deceiving God is really deceiving himself. God knows the truth about each one of us and has the authority to strike us down if needed, but usually, because of His mercy and love, He gives us more opportunities to turn to Him. Be thankful for what you have and diligent to take care of it. Those other guys? If they are really being deceitful, God’s got it and he will take care of it in His perfect time. What a relief!

Leave a Reply

