Submit or Die

Have you ever noticed how, when a controversial topic is at the height of discussion, people generally point to other people with differing opinions accusing them of causing the problem in the first place? Or at least they are accused of hindering any resolution? Why is that? Because, one group wants the other group to just submit and give in. They will not allow for others to have different behaviors or beliefs.

Believe it or not, God isn’t like that. He allows us all to make our own choices, whether they are right or wrong. Yes, in the end, we must be accountable for our choices, as well we should be, but He doesn’t bully us into His way or die immediately (you get my drift).In actuality, He doesn’t necessarily punish us if we choose against Him, He simply cannot allow us to be in His presence (the epitome of hell).

God has bent over backwards trying to show us how we are to live our lives, and yet we still have to put our own distorted flavor to it and make it our own instead of His. (We really are a rebellious bunch) Then, we bully the rest of the masses to compromise their beliefs and submit to our way. Unfortunately, this is tied in to religion in our culture and I think it’s very telling of how we really have no confidence in ourselves or God.

Look at the Baptist church down my street. I’ve never been there and I never will go. I love the people that go there, but they have informed me that if I wanted to visit their church, I would have to always wear dresses. I would not be allowed to wear slacks. Really? Is that necessary? If I wear slacks does it threaten the men or something? I know for a fact that not all Baptist churches are like this. Actually, most of them are quite liberal when it comes to dress code (just wear something), but this is definitely an old way of thinking kind of church and they haven’t changed.

The “radical Islamists” are exactly the same way. You must conform to their way or die. I don’t claim to understand all that they have been taught but I know that the Quran is nothing like our Bible. The Message itself, in the Bible, is full of life and love while the Quran seems to encourage death (even if its a last resort). I believe that even our God is different from their God, all due to the differing messages in our Books. If God is the same yesterday, today and forever, He’s not going to tell you one thing and me another and cause a fight.

Quite the opposite. God demonstrated exactly what He wants us to do for one another.

1 Timothy 1:15 This is a faithful saying and worthy of acceptance,that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief.

Hosea 6:6 I desire mercy and not sacrifice, and the knowledge of God more than burnt offerings.

Hosea 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I also will reject you from being priest for Me.

Essentially, God gave us Mercy in the form of a Sacrifice, showing us Who He truly is (LOVE) and yet we refuse to KNOW Him. If we were to really KNOW Him, we would stop pointing accusatory fingers at each other and love one another. Even when they are living sinful lives. We have to understand that we cannot get anyone to see the love of God by accusing them of being wrong all the time. God can show them any errors in their way of life through the love we show them. It’s not submit or die, but die to self and submit to God.

Leave a Reply

