Sacrifice

What’s the first thing you think of when you wake up? Me? Just about anything but what I should be thinking, and that’s how God has blessed me with another day of life. I generally wake up still in a fog from sleep, dreams kind of lingering in my memory and then I realize it’s morning and I’ve got stuff to do. From that moment, it’s a battle for me to stop thinking about all my tasks for the day and give God my heart and time. I keep telling myself that I want to, but it’s just way too tempting to value all of my responsibilities over worshiping my Savior.

Why is that? Do I not understand what He did for me? Is not ingrained in my heart that I was a walking dead person until I believed in Him? How can I not wake up with total devotion to the only One who could ever save me? Because I don’t really believe that I have done anything wrong, that’s how. I have been deceived into believing that my sins are against other people and not against God. How dangerous is that?

It’s all a sacrifice when it comes to living for God in this world. God is big on sacrifice, not because he wants us to do without anything, but because it keeps us in the frame of mind that we need to be in to love Him with all of our hearts. But, the writer of Hebrews tells us that ultimately, we need to sacrifice our pride and give praise to God first thing every day. Heb 13:15 Therefore by Him let us continually offer the sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name. I see this scripture as “continually” meaning every day and “fruit of our lips” being the first thing that comes out of mouths every day. (I’m thinking first fruits, but that’s just me)

This sacrifice of praise is especially difficult when we are going through trials or crises. We innately think we must come up with the solution to our problems rather than wait of God. We believe waiting on God isn’t the activity we are supposed to be doing. Faith is not an activity in our feeble minds, whereas in God’s realm, faith is the most important activity. To give praise and thanks to God who has saved our souls while we are in the midst of trauma or crisis, is the ultimate act of faith and the activity that drives God to act on our behalf in such power that we cannot fathom.

What do you think? Is waking up in the morning enough of a reason to get on your knees and worship God? When we come to the conclusion that it is then we will begin to see the world differently and be the change in the world that is so desperately needed. We see the need for mercy more than condemnation because God gave us mercy instead of condemnation. We see that our actions can lead people toward the truth or toward death and our sacrifice of praise will help guide us to being the light that leads to truth.

Leave a Reply

