Your Cup Will Overflow

Isn’t it exciting when you see God working in your life? When you know He’s talking to you, even when no one can hear it? Trusting in God is such a thrill. There is no sport or activity that can top the excitement of watching God working in your life and you are simply living in faith.

I see it every day now. I know I do because I’ve learned to look for it, but it’s not hard to find. When people are bringing adversity into my life, I automatically look for a way to give it to God and watch what He does with the situation. A customer decided to complain about our company recently and issued a couple of threats. We immediately were upset, of course, but as we talked about it, we realized that this person has a lot of other things going on that is clouding his judgement. This person had almost insinuated that we were the reason that their barn was almost destroyed even though we are in a totally different state. Or that we must have some satisfaction knowing that this person is going through some tough times. On the contrary, it bothers me deeply knowing that this person is dealing with so much adversity in life and feels like they have to blame it on someone.

Jesus had compassion on people, even when they didn’t know they needed it. He didn’t force anything on them, but loved them in his heart. That’s what I am trying to do on a consistent basis. “Love one another, even as I have loved you,so you must love one another. This is how the world will know you are my disciples if you love one another.” As hard as it is some days, and as angry as I try to become at some people’s behavior, deep down I know that my only option for a swift resolution is to love those people through it all. If I love them, then I will pray for them and sincerely pray that God will guide them to peace. By doing this, I am able to keep my own peace and not spend my valuable time worrying about things I cannot control.

As a result, I am seeing things happening in my life and the lives of those close to me that are remarkable. My son has exponentially improved in his game and is preparing for his first semi-pro tournament. Now any one can do this, but he was actually approached by the director to participate when my son has never even attempted to sign up for one of these tournaments. I attribute this to God, sending us a message that He wants Ryan to keep working. My daughter is having more difficulty because she is trying to focus more in her life but is crowded by her old friends. What I see is that she is seeing other people make wrong choices and she is fretting over them. She hasn’t gotten to the point in turning it over to God yet, but she continues to try to fix them herself. It’s only a matter of time for her to see that what’s impossible for her is easy for God. She’s closer and I see the spark of recognition in her actions getting more clear each day. I know it’s small, but I’m thankful for every bit of it.

Finally, I have seen the miracle of my life. How we started with nothing and now we are able to give to others with some left over. My next goal is to give what my flesh wants to keep, every time the opportunity arrives. The blessings that God gives are often bigger than I anticipate and catch me off guard. Remember that God is generous and will give abundantly to those who believe it. If you don’t believe me, just try it. Pray for your enemies and give away the things you really want to keep. When you do, your cup will overflow.

Leave a Reply

