He’s Not Done Yet

One week ago, I left my 18-year old son in an unfamiliar city, with relatives he’s not particularly close to, in order to pursue an impossible dream. Well, impossible to us, because the circumstances he finds himself in make the odds stacked up against him so high that they break the atmosphere. It’s one of those dreams that every boy has as a youngster, but tend to let go and pursue something within reasonable reach. Yes, if you’ve read any of my other posts, you already know it’s sports (tennis).

He’s only been playing for 6 years and has had decent but not great coaching up until he was 17. His heart burns to play and doesn’t feel at peace without it. At least that what he tells me. I told him not to do anything unless he was at peace with it. I think he’s afraid of not succeeding, but he doesn’t understand that he won’t succeed at anything if he doesn’t try. Personally, I believe in miracles. I believe God takes the least of us and makes us into something so big that we can only point to God  in recognition of what He did. “With men this is impossible,  but with God, all things are possible” (Matthew 19:26)

We don’t know what the future holds. I guess that’s what makes life so interesting. It’s also what makes faith so important. We cannot confess faith without living it, otherwise, we’re just hypocrites. As a matter of fact, we can’t expect to please God if we don’t exercise our faith to its limit every day. “But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him” (Hebrews 11:6)

This is one of those times when we have to give it all to God. At least I do because I have failed to provide my son with the proper tools he needed to excel at his dream. I tried but I was limited. Today is different. God has provided the opportunity and tools that I could never have thought of. And He used the least likely person to help provide it. Someone who believes that the athletes should not be paid nearly as much as they are and is disappointed in the culture that we have become because of the need for constant entertainment.

I am excited to see what God has in store for my son. I believe that whatever happens, it will be the right thing for him and he will in turn point back to God with gratitude. After everything he’s been through, his story is already a great testimony to how God is faithful, but knowing God, He’s not done yet.

Leave a Reply

