At Your Service

Romans 12:1 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

I’ve heard a lot of sermons based on this scripture. It has chastised me and encouraged me at different points in my life. Today, it’s telling me something a little different. God is obviously recognizing that I have a need to “do” something to make up for my bad behavior. Yes, I actually prayed something to that effect today because I see how much He loves me compared to how badly I behave (and it looks one-sided…His side). I see my lack of action as my lack of love for Him especially when I see so many other people who are traveling for missions or heading up big church projects for the needy. That’s when He allowed me to see this scripture again.

I am doing something and I’m quite good at it. (No, it certainly is not this blog!  haha) I get to talk to hundreds of people offering encouragement and advice. This job is something I never planned on doing, but it fell into my lap for a reason.

There are so many people who don’t have anyone who will simply listen to their problems and offer solutions. Granted, I don’t hear about all the problems, just the health problems, mostly for horses, but it usually translates into other things affected by those problems. I have the opportunity every day to address certain things that these people might take for granted that are actually hindering health in their situations and guide them towards a more natural way of living.

God has provided everything we need on this earth to live healthy and be strong, but we, as people, apparently decided that His provision wasn’t good enough and we added our own (synthetic) ingredients. If you look closely, everything around you has been “enhanced” by man. Unfortunately, those “enhancements” often have side effects. Society today has a skewed view of what’s healthy and what’s not. Things are improving, but there is a long way to go for us to get back to what God had intended for us.

What this scripture has told me is that my sacrifice was humbling myself to do a job that was necessary, even though I didn’t particularly want to do it at first. My obligation is to honor my God and do what He has asked me to do, no matter how lowly or unimportant it might seem. After a few years of doing this job, I have discovered that it’s actually pretty rewarding. I enjoy talking to a lot of the people on a regular basis, and it’s not just about problems, but it’s about how we can change our lifestyle to encourage health and contentment. When God showed me this scripture again, He allowed me to see that all along I’ve been in the trenches, sacrificing my selfishness in order to really help others in a practical way. I’ve got a long way to go, but I intend to keep my eyes focused forward on Him. In the meantime, I’m here….at your service.

 

Leave a Reply

