My Team Lost

I’m a huge college football and basketball fan. Call me a sports freak, I can take it. My beloved Ohio State lost yesterday, and frankly, they deserved to lose. Not going into all the gory detail as to the poor play calling and poor execution (it was just poor), but Michigan St. was the better, more determined team. Why is this something for me to write about? Because of the shallow anxiety I felt during the final quarter (or the entire game), with my stomach in knots and the restlessness I had each time I felt that my favorite team had a chance to blow it. It finally got to the point where I had to go outside and just soak in some quiet. I apologized to God first, because looking up at the sky, I could understand that the circumstances around a silly football game means nothing in the scheme of the greater good of humanity. I mean, pacing back and forth because your team can’t seem to make a first down is kind of crazy don’t you think? It’s not like I had bet any money on the game or anything. But still, there I was, acting like a father waiting for his child to be born outside in the waiting room rather than by his wife’s side helping her with the labor. When it’s all said and done, I had nothing to lose or to gain, though. It was just my selfish desire to see my team win and that’s just plain shallow.

So that brings me to my thoughts for today. There are so many things that we have to be thankful for. Some have more material things and some have more emotional things, but we all have things stored up in our minds that we feel blessed by. Out culture today seems to have more focus on getting more rather than enjoying what we already have.

James 1:17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.

Every gift we have, whether we recognize it or not, is from God. That promotion at work is a gift, not just the new car or new house. Every material gift is from God but it’s also a challenge. It’s a challenge for us to appreciate the gift but to credit the Giver and put Him first. After all, out of everything we have, the greatest Gift is the sacrifice Jesus made for us.

2 Corinthians 5:15  and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.

The week of Thanksgiving, for those of us in the U.S.,is supposed to be a time of reflection and gratitude for the blessings we have enjoyed over the past year. Whatever blessings they may be. I challenge anyone who reads this to look at everything you have both materially and spiritually. Prioritize them and look at the order in which they fall. What is most important to your heart versus what is truly most important to your eternal life? Be honest with yourself as hard as that may be.

Yes, my team lost yesterday, but I am still ever so thankful for the many blessings in my life. I have the ability to go out and show love to the rest of the world because my Savior showed me how it’s done. I believe it and receive it so now I can tell it! Have a blessed Thanksgiving everyone! No matter what may happen, no one can take away the Gift of Life that’s been given to us. Love you all!

Leave a Reply

