War on Weeds

Psalm 46:1-3 God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, even though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though its waters roar and be troubled,though the mountains shake with its swelling. Selah

Psalm 46:10  Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!

Some days I just need that reinforcement that no matter what’s going on around me in this world, I have nothing to fear. The pull is very strong towards the physical and material possessions, the acknowledgment of men over the honor of God. It’s incredible how swiftly our focus is turned, without our realizing it. The Word is the only thing that can keep our minds right and it must be in our hearts, planted like the seed that it is, rooted and fed generously with our tender loving care.

This reminds me of my garden I planted this year. I do one every year, but I almost didn’t this year because I knew I didn’t have the time to nurture it properly in order to reap a healthy harvest. Well, here it is August, and while I got a batch of green beans and a few tomatoes. The effort I put into those plants from the time they were seedlings shows by what fruit I got at time of harvest. Very little. What I did get an abundance of was weeds. Weeds everywhere, even in the heart of drought, they were very abundant. I was able to get out there maybe once a month and pull all the weeds that were getting out of control, but that’s not nearly enough and the weeds will never stop attacking.

Does this sound familiar? I know it does to me. The weeds are the things of this world that pulls your attention away from the focus of God, His will and His goodness. The weeds in my life continue to grow, even as I try to pull them out and the only thing that will overcome them is continuing to read the Word , getting it into my heart and living with faith in those words. sounds easy, but with the world pounding on my door every moment of every day, it becomes very tedious. How I admire Paul and his tenacity. The weeds will never stop coming but the power of the Word never fails. This is why it’s a fight, a war that we cannot take a vacation from. Our very souls depend on it.

Leave a Reply

