Shallow Soil

Matthew 13:3-9  Then He spoke many things to them in parables, saying,”Behold, a sower went out to sow, and as he sowed, some seed fell by the wayside; and the birds came and devoured them.  Some fell on stony places, where they did not have much earth; and they immediately sprang up because they had no depth of earth. But when the sun was up they were scorched, and because they had not root the withered away.  And some fell among thorns, and the thorns sprang up and choked them. But others fell on good ground and yielded a crop; some a hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty. He who has ears to hear, let him hear!”

If you’ve spent any time at church, you’ve probably heard this parable told by Jesus and then heard the explanation He gave afterwards. He’s talking about people receiving His Word and how it is allowed to grow within them or if it is choked out by the world or if it is quickly forgotten because of trials and burdens. I always wanted to think that if I were to meet Jesus, He would classify me as someone with good soil, who allowed His Word to grow within me and I produced good fruit.

Isn’t that what we all tend to think of ourselves? We want to think the best of ourselves, and maybe see others a little more realistically or even unrealistically negative. I have learned to quit looking at others, because I will see things with my distorted eyes that will cause me to stumble. It’s that simple. More than that, I have also learned that I am not good soil, not automatically, anyway. There are trials being thrown at me every day. A constant barrage of hurdles to see if I’m on my game. There are days when I nail it and then there are days when it just isn’t happening for me. Ugh. I just get weary.

Nope, I’m shallow ground without constant prayer and seeking of the Word. Constant prayer and seeking of the Word isn’t as difficult as one might think either.  I thought it would require me locking myself up in a room away from everyone in order to focus on talking to God and getting His Word into my heart, but I don’t have time for that. I don’t think God wants that each time we go to Him, anyway. He needs to be a part of our lives, every nasty little nuance of our lives before He can really make a difference.

This is what I have found to be cultivating and fertilizing the soil we have. We are actually fertilizing every time we talk with God about whatever is on our minds. By reading the Word and memorizing a few scriptures here and there so we can quote them throughout the day as we think of it, we are cultivating a richer soil within ourselves. What’s interesting, is the more we do the little things like this, the more it becomes a part of our daily life in a natural way. That’s when God is at home within us and we become the rich soil that can produce fruit. But don’t stop there because if you do, that soil will lose it’s nutrients and will not produce anything.

Feed your soul and become good soil. Letting the world’s burdens overwhelm you simply keeps you shallow. Turn to Him with everything on your heart constantly and He will show you how to let go of the burdens and trust Him.  Then you will no longer be shallow soil.

Leave a Reply

