Not Seen but Vital

1Corinthians 12:14-18  For in fact the body is not one member but many. If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the body?  And if the ear should say,”Because I am not an eye, I am not of the body,” is it therefore not of the the body?  If the whole body were an eye, where would be the hearing? If the whole were hearing, where would be the smelling? But now God has set the members, each one of them, in the body just as He pleased.

I don’t get invited to go out with friends, not for lunch or dinner, or even to local shows. It’s not because I don’t really have friends, I do, but they are not close and I don’t talk with them often. I used to when I was more active in my immediate community,but things have changed so dramatically for me lately, I don’t go out except to the store every once in a while. Things changed because my husband and I are doing something that seems to be helping people across the country (and even in some other countries) rather than just the people here in our neighborhood.

This change was my choice. While I sometimes feel lonely, I don’t regret it because I see a lot of things going on that I don’t want to be a part of. Friends that I thought were godly and devoted now split because of infidelity. Friends quarreling over things that should never have even become an issue. Even in a small town, things are getting out of hand with crime and hatred. I think I would rather not go out and risk getting involved in the chaos that seems to grow each day. At least not that much. (Call me chicken)

That’s why when I read the above passage today, it spoke to me. Paul is talking about body parts that are visible to the eye, but his analogy fits all body parts, even the ones we can’t see. The body must have eyes to see, ears to hear, yes, but it also needs a brain to think, a heart to love and pump life-giving blood. As a matter of fact, without these two vital organs, the body would be dead (and completely ineffective). I saw this and realized I do not have to be seen to be essential. I can be effective without being in the public eye. I can influence the people immediately around me who do go out into the public eye for the good. I am still a part of the body of Christ, even if I’m not seen. Actually, it makes me want to be like the vital organ that is so needed (even if we can’t see it) that the body would seriously deteriorate without me. I don’t want this to make myself feel important. It has nothing to do with me.

I want it because it would be proof that my relationship with God is THAT close and effective. It would mean that I have given my all to grow as close to Him as possible and everything I do gives Him glory. For me to be able to live for Him in that way would inevitably show to the rest of the world and the influence would be incredible. That’s what I want but wanting and having are two different things. First, I have to act on living for Him in every way. In this world, it’s not easy. But, Jesus did it, so it can be done (not to the perfection of Him, but we can all at least try).

1 Corinthians 12:24-25 But God composed the body, having given greater honor to that part which lacks it, that there should be no schism in the body, but that the embers should have the same care for one another.

vs 27 Now you are the body of Christ, and members individually.

We all have an important part to play in the war against evil. How we play our part is up to our obedience to God. We don’t need to be seen to be vital.

Leave a Reply

