Hidden Idolatry

Just when I think progress has been made in recognizing what’s important and what’s idolatry, things turn and look exactly the same as they did before. My son has battled two sports injuries over the past two years and is now dealing with what appears to be the onset of seasonal allergies with sinus congestion and a little cough.  The injuries were much more severe than the allergies, but to talk to my son, it’s as if he is permanently damaged.

Why is this important?  He wants to play tennis, serious tennis, for his career.  He had a simple back injury that was related to a broken leg many years ago. He now has a regimen that keeps his back stretched and healthy, while he wears something to support his leg that is ever so slightly shorter than the other. Last year, he had a shoulder injury that did not get properly diagnosed for 4 months, so he didn’t get the proper treatment.  He finally was able to adopt a stretching and strengthening exercise regimen that gradually built his shoulder back while allowing it to heal. It all took time, but it was all successful. He is able to play now whenever he wants to.

Now, he’s dealing with the sinus congestion, and frankly it’s just irritating. I don’t blame him for feeling this way, but in lieu of everything else, it’s really not concerning. He, however, let’s it all have control of how he lives. It doesn’t affect how he goes out to hang with his friends, but if he has to play a match against someone who has some talent, it becomes an issue (if he loses). He begins to question his talent, then he sees all of the physical issues as a deterrent and thinks he must not be destined to do what he loves.

When he gets like this, there is no talking to him. He blames everything around him, excuses the fact that he has a terrible attitude and expects…I don’t know what he expects anymore. I think he expects things to be easier, and I’ve told him over and over that it will not be easier, ever. It’s as if he’s trying to live a fairy tale, where he goes through some trials and then lives happily ever after.  I don’t know anyone who has had that happen.

Well, after this last bout of his attitude, I prayed again to God to show him the truth and open hie heart to actually see it. I can see it and I recognize the same in my attitude sometimes, so I am trying to apply what God is teaching me to change it. It’s not hard, because I’m not actually trying to change. I’m just changing my focus, which then helps me change my attitude. My son, however, has a different way of processing information, so I don’t know how long it will take for him to see his idolatry.

That’s what it is, and what it always has been. Idolatry. We don’t recognize God on a daily basis for who He is and we certainly don’t give Him the reverence and glory He deserves. He is God when good things happen to us and He is missing in action when bad things happen and so we blame Him. I will never buy that. I don’t count on the things (good or bad) to happen, I count on God to always be there to guide me. My son is counting on the things, which in my opinion is idolatry. How to get him to see the difference? I don’t know. God does, so I continue to leave it to Him.

Leave a Reply

