Focused or Distracted?

This past week, I have been trying to renew my closeness with God.  I’ve wanted so badly to feel that incredible feeling when He is speaking to me.  I’ve come close, but it seems that this particular week, I have been distracted more easily than I would ever want.  Snow, car wreck, headaches, grown children acting like little children, the list goes on, and yet the message I’ve gotten this week when I wasn’t distracted is “Stop trying to please people”.

It’s not the kind of pleasing people that you would think either.  I’ve had myself completely fooled thinking I was really trying to please God, when my heart was more focused on pleasing people.  How?  By hoping for recognition from people for the things I have done to help others.  Seriously!  I was trying to do big things for people or organizations all the while hoping that I would be remembered for what I did.  When God pointed that out to me, I was astonished, but then again, not so surprised.  God knows my heart, but in reality, so do I.

Jesus said in John 13:34 “Let me give you a new command: Love one another.  In the same way I loved you, you love one another.  This is how everyone will recognize that you are my disciples, when they see the love you have for each other.”

So my giving a big lump sum to the school for whatever reason is not going to really show that I love others.  I have to be there every day for those people in order to love them properly.  Where I am now, I can’t physically do that, so I shouldn’t worry about it.  Yes, it’s okay to give to those organizations that need it, but don’t expect anything back.  After all, I’m giving not making a list of things to receive.  God’s already told me that I will receive in accordance to what I give, so why am I trying to dictate what it is I receive?  God’s gifts are always better than my own, anyway.

The last point I understood to be meant for me especially is the faithfulness in a little and the faithfulness in a lot.  When I look around, I need to realize that I have actually been given a lot and I need to be faithful to take care of it all.  I haven’t done a very good job of that lately and it’s starting to show.  God needs me to refocus my time to managing all that He’s given me in order to refocus my heart on pleasing Him, not others.

It’s all tied together and I can easily connect the dots when I look with my heart.  That quiet time with God is the most important thing I can do and letting myself get distracted takes away so much more than just a prayer.  I need that relationship and closeness to Him because when I do get that feeling, it levels me and renews me altogether.  I can go forward for the next 24 hours and shine a little brighter for Him.  My eyes see clearly and I honestly feel the love for others that He wants me to feel.  In the end, that is my reward.

Leave a Reply

