Living Victorious

Life is full of hills and valleys.  We hear things like that all the time but do we know how to go through them and remain happy?  That’s a question that I have been trying to answer for myself and to hopefully help those around me to answer, too.  It’s not easy, especially when we are faced with a hill or mountain that we must climb.  I’m not much of a hiker but when I do go to the park on a mountain nearby to climb the top, I usually try to find the easiest way.  Luckily, at the park, there are paths that have been carved out for me so I can choose the degree of difficulty for my climb.  This is true in life also, although the paths are not as clear to see until after we’ve chosen one.  What appears easy on the outside usually tends to change once we’ve started and becomes more difficult as we progress.  Sometimes, what seems to be the hard way is usually the best and most peaceful way to go.

I don’t know about you, but when I look at my circumstances, I try to gauge what is in store in the future if I choose to do one thing over another.  This way of thinking typically disappoints me because I cannot predict the future, no matter how hard I try.  When I think I’m choosing the best way, I imagine the end results without considering how many obstacles I may encounter during my journey.  It’s the obstacles that weigh heavy and can cause me to quit if I’m not really focused on the result I know is coming my way.  I don’t know how many obstacles I will encounter and I don’t know how long it will take for me to reach the end.  Not knowing makes it all the more challenging.

What makes it even more challenging is doubt.  You start on a journey, thinking that God has called you to do this particular thing and you run into some very difficult obstacles right in the process.  You think to yourself, “Okay, I expect some challenges, but I will continue to believe and fight, and they will pass”.  But they don’t.  At least not in the time frame you believe they should and you start to be come discouraged.  That’s when doubt starts creeping in and you start wondering if you were truly called to do this particular thing by God at all.  Why?  Because you have failed to remember that God’s timing is not yours.  You are the one who needs to be flexible and change your timing to God’s.  How hard is that when you don’t even know God’s timing?  If God puts on your heart to do something, you can never quit and still please God.  If there is a divine purpose in what He has called you to do, He will give you the strength to go through whatever you face in order to achieve His purpose.  Remember, it’s His purpose, not yours.

So, having said all of that, I have found some scriptures to help encourage us to stay the course God has put us on, whatever it may be.  I’ve also added my interpretations that you might find helpful.  They help me, at least.

What is victorious?

Victorious is knowing we won’t get everything we want (just because we want it) and still being satisfied in life (in Him).  Philippians 4:11  “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances”

Victorious is seeing God’s glory BEYOND every circumstance (good or bad).  1 Thessalonians 5:18  “Give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus”

Colossians 2:6  “So the, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord,continue to live in Him, rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness”

Victorious is living according to the Spirit and having self control over your fleshly (worldly) desires.  Galatians 5:16  “So I say, live by the Spirit and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature”

Victorious is being set to follow God’s will and not your own…knowing the difference between your desire and God’s call.

Proverbs 2:1-6 “My son, if you accept My words and store up My commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding and if you look for it as hidden treasure.  Then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.  For the Lord gives wisdom, and from His mouth come knowledge and understanding”

1 Peter 5:6-7  “Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time”

Jeremiah 29:13 “You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all of your heart”

It’s a new journey every day.  When our eyes open first thing in the morning is when our focus needs to turn straight to the One who will guide us into the victory He has promised.  If we don’t, then we cannot expect Him to be able to help when it’s crunch time.

Leave a Reply

