Foolish

Sometimes I feel the weight of the world’s influence on my beliefs as if an oversized boulder has been set on my shoulders and I can’t move forward where I really want to go.  The logic that is conveyed through science makes my simple belief in Jesus seem ridiculous.  I can’t explain why I believe so strongly in something and Someone I have never seen with my eyes and yet, when I try to look at situations without the variable of Christ, I feel completely lost.  There’s something about the foolishness of Christ that brings me unimaginable peace.  Peace, which is definitely not prevalent in the world today and yet it seems more and more people are denying the ultimate Provider of it.

There is a scripture that helps me when I am feeling the weight of the world.

1 Corinthians 1:26-30  For you see your calling, brethren, that not many wise according to the flesh, not many mighty, no many noble, are called.  But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty; and the base things of the world and the things which are despised God has chosen, and the things which are not, to bring to nothing the things that are, that no flesh should glory in His presence.  But of Him you are in Christ Jesus, who became for us wisdom from God-and righteousness and sanctification and redemption-that, as it is written, “He who glories, let him glory in the Lord”.

This fortifies my belief that my power is nothing.  The only real power I have is my faith in the power of God through Jesus Christ.  It’s His power that brings me peace in times of trouble.  It’s His power that gives me hope when things look bleak.  It’s His power that enables me to see beyond the situation and have faith that no matter what happens, God is taking good care of me.

When tragedy strikes, as it seems to do every day somewhere in the world, the hardest thing to do is not ask “Why?”  The hardest thing for my flesh to do is to allow my spirit to focus on the bigger plan that God has (that I am not privy to know all the details).

Last week, a group of people killed a group of writers for what they had published because they were offended.  Yesterday, a 10 year old girl was a suicide bomber in Nigeria, killing 20 people and injuring about 18 more.  There are so many more examples of seemingly insignificant complaining and protesting around the world, but it all points to a lack of peace within.  It doesn’t matter the religion or ethnicity, we are all fighting the same turbulence and a lot of us are losing the battle.

I suppose that’s why I choose to just give up and stop fighting with my own power.  I can see that it’s futile.  My strength is in my faith. “Because foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.” (1 Cor 1:25)  I am satisfied in that and happy to be considered foolish because at least I am not losing sleep with worry and trying to overcome the massive “what ifs” in the world.

Leave a Reply

