New Year’s Resolution

It’s New Year’s Eve and everyone is busy making plans for tonight.  How will you celebrate?  I have come to mind the last few years that we (people) will come up with just about any excuse to have a party.  Parties are fun, but often they come with high risk of loss of control, especially when alcohol is a guest at the party.

New Year’s Eve is the chance to get one last fling before having to get back to the grind and be responsible.  This is how I observe the behavior of everyone around me, anyway.  I think, though, that New Year’s Eve is an incredible opportunity for us to reflect on what we have experienced in the last 365 days.  It is a time when we should really examine our behavior towards ourselves and others; celebrate our achievements and set our resolutions for self improvement.  I’m not talking about losing weight or quitting smoking.  I’m talking about our relationship with God.  Did I seek Him this year with my whole heart or did I just go through the motions in my prayers?  I’ve discovered that there is a big difference and we are all subject to fall into that trap unless we diligently seek Him with our hearts.

This one resolution, to seek God with all your heart, has the power to change the world.  I think if one person out of every one hundred would truly seek Him in this way, the influence of peace, love and understanding would trickle into everyone else’s lives and they would follow suit.  This number seems completely outrageous to me because I know how people are, but I also know in my heart that “with God all things are possible.”  So, it could be one out of a million and the influence would be just as powerful.  So, I have to ask, am I seeking Him with all my heart?  Am I going to be the one out of a million to influence people towards peace and love?  Will I be the difference to show that God isn’t about condemnation but forgiveness and mercy?

“Should auld acquaintance be forgot, And never brought to mind? Should auld acquaintance be forgot, And auld lang syne! For auld lang syne, my dear, For auld lang syne. We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet, For auld lang syne.”

We sing this song every New Year’s Eve but I don’t believe many of us understand it.  It’s about putting the past behind us and embracing each other and our future.  We don’t forget the past, but we don’t dwell on it either.  We use our past to grow.  We look for the good and we encourage one another to do the same.  In my opinion, this ties in so neatly with growing in our relationship with God because He teaches us with our past and encourages us with His kindness and mercy.

“You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all of your heart”  Jeremiah 29.13

I think that’s a pretty good resolution for 2015.

Leave a Reply

