All You Need is Love?

Luke 6:37-38  “Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults, unless, of course, you want the same treatment.  Don’t condemn those who are down; that hardness can boomerang.  Be easy on people; you’ll find life a lot easier.  Give away your life; you’ll find life given back, but not merely given back, given back with bonus and blessing.  Giving, not getting, is the way.  Generosity begets generosity.”

Luke 19:45-46  Going into the Temple He began to throw out everyone who had set up shop, selling everything and anything.  He said, “It’s written in Scripture, My house is a house of prayer; you have turned into a religious bazaar.”

This Christmas has been anything but peaceful it seems.  At least in the U.S.  Protesters are everywhere because of their perception of injustice and cruelty.  While I continue to believe that no lives should be lost because of conflict, I know it will happen simply because of the world we live in.  So, that leaves me with two points I feel led to make.  The first point goes with the first Scripture.

Don’t pick on people.  Those of us who claim to be Christian should have this etched in our hearts permanently.  This verse is referring to all people, not just other Christians, but also people who are perceived to be criminals.  I don’t believe Jesus is talking about “turning the other cheek” while criminal activity is going on, but I believe He means we should give people the opportunity to change.  Help them feel wanted, loved and appreciated.  I don’t see much of this being advertised with the many protests going on or the public figures who are supposedly trying to inspire the best out of people.  What I continue to see is finger pointing and accusations.  I think the change will be real when we all take a breath and actually look at one another with understanding eyes.  To know that no matter what we do or how we act, God loves us and will always receive us if we repent and turn to Him.  Do we offer that same love?  We were told to but our selfish feelings tend to blind our compassion.

The second point then, goes with the the second Scripture.  Jesus loses His temper with people.  Sounds a lot like what we’ve been doing except there’s a difference.  Jesus is angry at the people who are supposed to leading the example of holiness and God’s will.  The public seems to be angry with the people who simply oppose them.  I believe this problem exists even more so now than it did then.  As a matter of fact, there are a few Reverends that have fueled some of the public reactions that have turned violent.  We don’t need any more fuel.  We need some love to help extinguish some of this anger.  If there is to be any chastising or correction, it must go to the clergy who are supposed to be leading us toward God’s will through His agape love.  We do not all have to agree on every little item, but we must love one another through it all.

After all, this is the whole reason why Jesus was born.  His entire life was a miracle, from conception to His resurrection and it was all done in love for each of us.  One Man who would devote His entire life to serving God’s will and showing humanity the true meaning of love.  How do we thank Him on His birthday?  I think it is something we should all contemplate heavily in our hearts.  I know as I type this my heart is breaking because I know how unworthy I am to receive the love He has given.  I have no right to point my finger at anyone thinking I know better because in my heart, I know I am just as lowly as anyone.  Now that I’ve realized that (for today because I need to realize this every day of my life), what am I going to do?   I guess the Beatles had it right after all when they said, “All you need is love”, because love is all I can do and remain at peace.

Leave a Reply

