What’s Real?

I sit this morning with my cup of coffee, relishing its warmth as it travels down my throat.  It’s chilly outside and I’m cold-natured so any bit of warmth I can glean from what’s around me, I will do so gladly.  For most of us, this is just a part of the world around us.  Our reality is the physical world.

I was thinking about this the other day and I had a thought.  “How much am I really focusing on the physical world?”  A couple of scriptures jumped into my mind immediately:

“So I say live by the Spirit and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.”  Galations 5:16

“You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all of your heart.”  Jeremiah 29:13

“The tongue has the power of life and death and those who love it will eat its fruit.”  Proverbs 18:21

“While we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen.  For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”  2 Corinthians 4:18

There are many more I can think of but, I think you get the point.  These scriptures tell me where the reality is, and it’s not where my focus has been.  While I know that I must take care of my physical body and the things I have been entrusted to keep, none of these things last forever.  God gives us these things to enable us to take care of them with love and honor towards Him.  We develop our relationship with Him through the physical experiences we have here on earth.  If we are living by the Spirit, then we are focusing on how God is interacting with us every day.  We invite God into our daily lives which helps us focus on His will, not our fleshly will.  We are able to care for our material things with integrity and propriety because we honor God first.  When we honor Him first, we see things using His standards and not ours, which are less than ideal.

Looking at it from this perspective, seeking God with my whole heart should be my daily goal.  I don’t know about you, but I am bombarded with distractions every moment of every day, especially when I pray.  I can be quoting scripture to myself, because I need it on a daily basis, and my mind will all of the sudden pop up something that happened earlier in the day that has nothing to do with my focus on God.  It’s very irritating!  I know what it is and I simply continue with my scriptures and focus even more on what I am saying.  Honestly?  It’s a battle.  Sometimes I win and sometimes I am weak, but I will never stop trying.

But what about those who doubt that there is anything beyond the physical world?  I’m not one for arguing so I will just say this:  Humans have always had a fascination with the “spirit world”.  Ancient history up to today, there are myths and stories that point to supernatural spirits.  Why are we so fascinated with something we cannot prove exists?  I believe it’s because it’s already been proven through the complexity of creation itself.  The intricate details of each living being from humans to bugs to flowers and fish.  Everything is made up of systems that work together to function.  Even the solar system is designed this way.  I cannot believe that all of these things merely came into being by chance.  If so, then there would be more of these spontaneous creations happening and we would be used to it.  Instead, we look and study each thing with wonder and awe because innately we understand that something bigger than we know had the ideas and means to create all of it.  The only answer for my heart to accept is God.  His Message in everything I see in nature tells me He is full of love for us all.  Coupled with His Word, then I have absolutely no doubts.  This gives me great peace and I have no wish to argue with anyone over it.  Ultimately, this choice must be made by everyone and while I pray that you see the world as the proof that I see it as, I understand that our perception will be different.

All in all, I believe we have yet to see what’s real.  But when we do I believe we will all be speechless.

Leave a Reply

