Diligence

When I look at the people who are in my life, I see a variation of people who are dissatisfied and wanting more. I’m not quite sure what they are thinking they are missing, but it seems there are very few days that go by that they don’t have something to complain about. In fact, it’s typically days that I don’ see them that I don’t hear them complain. When I do see them, I observe what they do and it’s clear to me the reason they are not content.

Diligence is a four letter word apparently. At least that’s how we treat it. We vow to be diligent in something because we want to see results but when we don’t see the results we expect within the time period we expect it, we decide that diligence isn’t working and we quit. That’s what I see the people around me doing anyway. I’ve even caught myself in the act.

Diligence is understanding the process in which results come, having patience to continue the process and having faith that the results will come at the perfect time. Essentially, diligence = patience + faith x work. You have to work in faith in order to see the fruit of diligence.

Proverbs 18:9 He who is loose and slack in his work is brother to him who is a destroyer and he who does not use his endeavors to heal himself is brother to him who commits suicide.

Luke 16:10 He who is faithful in what is least is faithful also in much; and he who is unjust in what is least is unjust also in much.

Being faithful in what is least is diligence. It’s the homemaker who keeps the house clean, from the laundry to the bedclothes, to the carpets, the dishes, the trash cans…..everything. (Ok, so now I don’t even want to look at my own house because I’m behind in everything!) I admit, my example hits home for me because I somehow find excuses not to do some of the simplest tasks, and yet I get frustrated when I see my family choose not to do some of those tasks themselves. Being diligent means taking the time to do things right and as soon as they need to be done. It’s a continual process in every aspect of life. From the moment you wake up to the moment you lie back down to sleep, doing things the right way should be top priority.

When we are diligent in everything, we are showing God how much we value the gifts He has given us. When He sees that we appreciate everything He has done for us by our zeal in taking care of it all (our bodies, clothes, homes, cars, finances, jobs, animals, children, everything!), then He knows that when He puts a large responsibility on us, we will be able to handle it. Job, I think was the greatest example of diligence because when he prospered and when he lost everything, he continued to remain faithful to God. Actually, he grew closer to God when he lost everything, but when he recovered, God blessed him with double of all that he had lost..all because he was diligent in his faith. That story should inspire us all to seek God, especially when we are at our lowest. Jesus died for us so that we could take advantage of the privilege of such an important relationship. If we are diligent in our pursuit, our blessings will be unimaginable.

Leave a Reply

