Enoch

So, I’ve been reading about Enoch this week, because I have this fascination with being raptured.  Nevermind that I believe it will happen and will happen soon.  What fascinates me even more is how Enoch came to the type of relationship that would entice God to just take him .  It doesn’t say anything about what Enoch did specifically to make God want him out of all the other people on the earth.

Genesis 5:21-24  Enoch lived sixty-five years, and begot Methulesah.  After he begot Methuselah, Enoch walked with God three hundred years, and had sons and daughters.  So all of the days of Enoch were three hundred and sixty five years.  And Enoch walked with God, and he was not, for God took him.

This scripture doesn’t describe how Enoch was walking with God before he had Methuselah.  I take that to mean that 1) he wasn’t perfect, 2) he didn’t draw near to God fully until Methuselah was born and 3) it took 300 years for Enoch to develop the kind of relationship with God that would make God desire to take him for himself.  That’s persistence on Enoch’s part.  I suppose that Enoch’s purpose in life was have Methuselah and the rest of it to love God.

I don’t know about you, but I take comfort in this scripture.  First it tells me that my purpose in life isn’t to try to figure out what my purpose in life is.  It’s simply to love God with all my heart.  Whatever opportunities come for me to share with others how I’ve found peace, then I will take them, but I will not worry about creating them because I am not fulfilling my purpose.  If God wanted me to be an evangelist, I would hear and do my best to obey.  But I’m not a speaker and God does not want me out there talking to people unless I can completely let Him have control of my mouth.  (Not an easy thing)  I am a writer, which is why I don’t mind putting my thoughts here.  I would like to think that some people read my ramblings and get a little inspiration, but I’m not going to worry about that either.  My reflections are just as much for me as they are for anyone, so at least I know one person is getting something out of it.

The other reason I take comfort is because if it took Enoch 300 years to develop his relationship with God, then I’m doing okay.  As long as I am focusing on Him and not on the world each day, I’m doing okay.  I don’t have 300 years, at least I don’t think so, and so I will take the time that I have to grow as God allows me.  I may have a completely different type of heart than Enoch.  I may be stubborn and difficult to learn the wisdom that God gives me.  After all, I have found myself focusing on the same lessons week after week because I pay closer attention to the world and how I can accomplish such and such rather than letting His wisdom live in my heart so I don’t pay that kind of attention to the world.

It’s one day at a time. Frankly, I would rather have it that way so my simple mind can start new each day. I can’t worry about what I thought and did yesterday. The ability to repent allows me to start the next day fresh, working hard to please my God because I love Him. What mercy and grace we have through His generosity!

Leave a Reply

