If I Just Buy The Field

I’ve been thinking about this for two weeks now, trying to get it straight in my mind.  It’s how we lack the confidence in God to allow Him to handle things.  I look at this world we live in and I see how we are trapped in the delusion that we have control. The only control I can see that we really have is whether we choose to allow God in our lives or not.  That dictates how peaceful our lives will be.

Here’s my reasoning.  I visited a church last week that was celebrating its youth on that day.  They had complete control of the service, and it was inspiring.  They chose a few young speakers to talk about their mission trips over the summer.  They didn’t go on and on about all the wonderful work they did and they didn’t rave about how much fun they had.  They briefly spoke about those things, but what they focused on was the power of peace they saw in the people they were visiting.  One young lady put it poignantly, “Here was this man who has nothing, no job, no family, no money, but his love for Christ was what kept him smiling the whole time.  And here I am, with everything I need and I don’t have anywhere near the love for Christ that this man does.  I hope to have that kind of love for Him.  That is my goal.”

Matthew 13:44 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and hid; and for joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.”

When we see the true treasure, we don’t want anything else.  That’s basically it.  The true treasure is the love and confidence we can have in God, if we just allow Him in.  I know this applies to me, at the very least, because I haven’t allowed Him in all the way.  It’s been little by little over the last 25 years.  It’s not God’s fault, it’s mine, because I think I have to do certain things before I can fully relinquish my life to Him.  Things like living a better, more giving and loving life.  Things like making sure my children are going down the right path.  You know, things that I can’t really control, but pretend to control anyway.  

I’m learning that the more I give myself to Christ, the more I can live a more giving and loving life.  I find it easier to forgive those who may have offended me in the past.  I even pray for them to see how God can make them more giving and loving too.  I’ve learned that it’s all connected and I can have this freedom to let God take over and be at peace.  I’m not saying it’s easy, because the enemy has definitely done a good job of deceiving me to thinking I can’t trust God that much, and I must have the control if anything is going to go right in my life.  That’s what it is.  Deceit.  

Through the pain, the anguish, the laughter, the love, the good days and the bad ones, I don’t have to worry.  I have the ultimate treasure, if I just buy the field.

Leave a Reply

