Authority

Everything I write about are things that I have been convicted of. I share what my insights are and what I try to do in order to please God. When I write, though, I include all of us because I know that I’m not the only one to do these things. So, I’ve just been convicted of another issue that I know includes a lot of people in the U.S. It’s respecting authority.

I always thought that I respected authority because I obeyed the rules, or at least most of them. I only speed 7 to 10 miles above the speed limit. I pay my all taxes unless my accountant finds a way for me not to pay as much. I never criticize the government unless I know I am right and they are wrong. That sounds about right, at least for me.

Then I go and open my Bible to 1 Peter 2: 13-17. Therefore submit yourselves to every ordinance of man for the Lord’s sake, whether to the king as supreme or to governors, as to those who are sent by him for the punishment of evildoers and for the praise of those who do good. For this is the will of God, that by doing good, you may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men – as free yet not using liberty as a cloak for vice, but as bondservants of God. Honor all people. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.

This made me look for other scripture regarding authority and of course, I found them.
Romans 13:1 Let every soul be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and the authorities that exist are appointed by God. Therefore whoever resists the authority resists the ordinance of God, and those who resist will bring judgment on themselves.

(Oh dear, this wasn’t looking good at all)

Jude 6-9 And the angels who did not keep their proper domain but left their own abode, He has reserved in everlasting chains under darkness for judgment of the great day; as Sodom and Gomorrah, and the cities around them in a similar manner to these, having given themselves over to sexual immorality and gone after strange flesh, are set forth as an example, suffering the vengeance of eternal fire. Like wise these dreamers defile the flesh, reject authority and speak evil of dignitaries. Yet Michael, the archangel, in contending with the devil, when he disputed about the body of Moses, dared not bring against him a reviling accusation, but said, “The Lord rebuke you!”

When I read this, I thought of some conversations I’ve had with my husband about political issues that have been going on recently. We both were very vocal about our opinion of our political leaders in the state and in the federal levels. We didn’t have many good things to say at all. There. I was convicted.

I’m just going to say that our governing leaders are in their positions for a reason. Whether they bought their way in or got voted in legitimately, there is a holy reason they are there. Look at the Pharaoh who kept the Hebrews slaves for so long. God had this planned for a reason, to show His greatness in leading Moses to free them. I believe this could be going on right now with our own government. What I mean is, they may be doing some of the things that the majority of us disagree with because there is a bigger cause in the end. Usually it’s to bring us closer to God and to help us see that we should be relying on Him rather than on ourselves.

So, as hard as it seems, I am learning to say in my heart, “I trust You, God”, whenever I see the news reporting yet another scandal in one of our governing agencies, or controversy in the decision making process. I will remember that even when I think our government is just doing things to line its own pockets, I will respect their authority and trust that whatever they do that is against God’s will, God will take care of it.

That doesn’t mean I’m not going to do anything. All it means is that while I am out trying to help others, I refuse to complain about the authorities who made some of the decisions that might have contributed to the situations of those “others” I’m trying to help. Complaining isn’t going to help them. I am God’s instrument and it’s my job to help them.

Leave a Reply

