Believe or Not Believe?

Every day I observe a lot of different behaviors from many people either in person or through the many avenues of media and I have to scratch my head and wonder, “Why do we insist on arguing about things we aren’t prepared to understand fully and probably aren’t even smart enough to understand?” There are many people out there who simply don’t believe in God, for instance. Everything must be explained through science or logic, and if anything happens that really can’t be explained, then it is immediately ridiculed or speculated upon. You know, like the many theories of Creation. The conversations and arguments that go on between non-believing scientists and believers shouldn’t really even be happening, in my opinion.

First, none of us were there when everything was created, so we technically can’t prove anything totally. Second, the clues that we do have that confirm certain theories are there to guide us in our understanding of how things work. They have helped us to grow into more productive people by teaching us things like how cells multiply and are programmed for certain duties. This information has helped us understand things like medicine and basic body function/health to environment health. Just because anything can be explained through science, doesn’t mean it isn’t from God. I guess that’s my whole premise here. I believe God created science as a modem for getting things done. Just because we happen to figure a few of those scientific laws out doesn’t rule out the God created them and uses them or that He even exists. The things that we can’t explain through any scientific law simply means that we haven’t discovered it yet and probably that we aren’t smart enough to understand it anyway. It’s pretty arrogant to think that we have the cognitive ability to understand everything scientific or not.

It’s Easter weekend, and I am focusing my praise on the risen Savior, Jesus Christ, Who died for my salvation. His resurrection cannot be scientifically explained and we weren’t there anyway, so we must take it on faith. We also can’t scientifically explain how He ascended into Heaven to sit at the right hand of God, again we must take it on faith.

This is the most special time of the year for me because it reaffirms my focus on the salvation God provided for me. I don’t have to prove anything, just accept it. What I can say is that the peace I have when I am completely focused on God and how much He loves me, while it can’t be proven scientifically, gives me energy and strength to love others the way I believe God wants me to. I simply have faith in Him, in His Son, in His Holy Spirit Who guides me everyday and encourages me when I desperately need it. I can’t prove it, but I can feel it deep within my heart and spirit. For me, that’s enough and I don’t have to question, just receive. So, looking at it that way, I choose to believe.

Leave a Reply

