No Judgment Necessary

My exploration to the end times has led me to researching what is judgment. I’m finding myself going in circles on this one because first, it’s really very simple and second, we make it really complicated! Let me explain. I started trying to figure out exactly what can I expect at the Judgment Seat. If I am forgiven, will I still have to account for it or have I already accounted for it when I repented of it? I believe I accounted for it when I repented, but that doesn’t cover everything since that time. I must repent of my acts against God every time because there is no insurance policy to cover future sins without accounting for them through repentance.

Okay, so that led me to my “future sins”. Once we submit to Christ, we are fair game for Satan, let me just start with that one. We get double-teamed by him once he knows we are committed to Jesus because he is determined to make us out to be 1)fake, 2)hypocritical and 3) more selfish than nonbelievers. Basically, he wants us to be seen as fake by the world and quite frankly, from what I’ve seen, he’s doing a pretty good job of it. See, just because we declare our commitment to Jesus doesn’t automatically make us able to immediately decide right from wrong each time. We still have that fleshly selfishness that we have to contend with and tame. It may not be a crime to cut off the person in the left hand lane on the highway because you are trying to pass the semi that’s not going fast enough for you, but it reflects to the person you just cut off how much more important you think you are than anyone else on the road. Make sense? We do it all the time and we justify our actions because we’re late or some other excuse. At the same time, we have that Christian bumper sticker exclaiming to the world our devotion to Christ. Wow. Is that the message we really want to send? No! But we’re too busy with our own agenda to remember that these small insignificant actions are actually like yelling through a bullhorn, “I’m not really a believer and Christ really hasn’t changed me!”

Well, this line of thinking has led me to how we judge other people while somehow not recognizing the same faults in ourselves. Romans 1:29-31 is a list of qualities that we have all experienced in our lives at one time or another. “being filled with all unrighteousness, sexual immorality, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, evil-mindedness; they are whisperers, backbiters, haters of God, violent, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, undiscerning, untrustworthy, unloving, unforgiving, unmerciful”
These qualities are describing people who are living for themselves rather than for God and just because we may say we love God, our actions speak louder than words and verse 32 says, “who, knowing the righteous judgment of God, that those who practice such things are deserving of death, not only do the same but also approve of those who practice them.” Basically, this just tells me that if I spent more time focusing on my heart and my actions, then maybe I would recognize my need to repent a whole lot more than when I focus on everyone around me and the things they are doing. If I still need to repent, then I’m wasting my time trying to help other people get their lives back together because I’m not being the example God intended me to be. By admitting my sins against God every day (because I know I do something that isn’t completely in line with His will every day), then I am showing others that while I’m not perfect, I am focused on pleasing God and grateful for His mercy that never seems to run short. My heart, then, is with God, even when my selfishness tries to come out and take over because if I am focused on God, then I recognize that selfishness a whole lot quicker and can squelch it before it hurts either me or someone else. You see? With all of this going on in my own life, I have no time to focus on other people and judge them! All I can do is be the example for them to focus on their own lives and hopefully on God, Who will guide them to perfection.
Romans 2:11 “For there is no partiality with God.” I think that sums it for me because He treats you the same as He treats me, so I need to treat you the same as I treat me. More than that I need to treat you the same as He treats you. I trust Him to take care of you under His terms just as He takes care of me, no judgment on my part necessary.

Leave a Reply

