Peace In The End

I grew up hearing that the time is coming near, that Jesus is coming soon, and I while I kind of believed it, I didn’t have it rooted in my heart as something that was really possible, at least during my lifetime. This past year, I have taken the time to really open my eyes and see the world the way Jesus sees it. Well, maybe at least closer to the way He sees it. I believe, now, that we are at the cusp of eternity. I can feel it in my spirit and when I think about it, I kind of get butterflies.

2 Timothy 3:1-5 But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come: For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, traitors,headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!

I have seen evidence of all of these descriptions in people every day, on television shows, commercials, on Facebook, Twitter and in person. I’ve seen some of these qualities even in people I dearly love and believe that they are believers. The pull of the world is strong and we need to be keenly aware every moment of every day how deceptive it can be in order to guard against it.

These last few weeks have really made it more clear for me, with the total unrest all over the world. The threat of Russia taking over Ukraine. The disappearance of a flight from Malaysia. The constant bickering of governments all over the world, not just the US, although I believe they have been something of an example (a Poor one) for others to follow. The popularity of approving gay marriage in a world that doesn’t even really respect what marriage is anyway, since divorce is so easy to attain. The disrespect of children towards their parents and the parents inability or lack of desire to discipline their children effectively. The way everyone seems to be so easily offended anymore by the slightest comment or action, yet justify themselves when they say or behave the same way in connection to a different subject.

I’m no better and I find myself with thoughts of self-righteousness or haughtiness when I see someone doing something I think God disapproves of. Well, I have to say God is showing me so much with this subject, because I have certain beliefs of what God wills and what God hates. I read it in the Bible which I believe is completely true, so there is nothing wrong there. What is wrong, is when I try to shove my beliefs down someone else’s throat by my public disapproval and speaking out to influence others. I will speak my beliefs, but I will not insist that I am right and everyone else is wrong.

I go back to what I’ve been learning this last month, love unconditionally and love through actions not merely words. God loves us so much, He sacrificed His Son to save us. We forget that while bad things are still happening in the world, we are already saved if we simply receive it. What happens to my body stays with my body. My spirit cannot be harmed because I am covered by the redemption of Jesus. Once I face that fact, I am able to go out and love every person I meet with my actions, my expressions and my words. This means someone who is straight will get the same love from me as someone who is gay. Someone who is in jail will get the same love from me as someone who is not. I firmly believe that it is our duty to teach others about the love of God and help them see the difference between right and wrong, but it is not our duty to point out right and wrong to them, it is our duty to help them open their hearts to receive God’s word. It is God’s word that will direct them in the way He wants them to go, we are to be their encouragement and example. God knows our hearts and He will teach us His Way. Once we let go of that control and give it all over to Him, I believe the growth of faith will explode.

Galatians 6:10 Let him who is taught the word share in all good things with him who teaches. Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap. For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit will of the Spirit reap everlasting life. And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.

This is what I believe and how I try to live. The end may be coming but I can still be an example to others. I can show encouragement and help anyone who wants to understand that we don’t need to be afraid or to be in control. There’s less pressure when we recognize we’re not in control, but we can actually have some peace.

Leave a Reply

