I Will Give Thanks

I woke up with a heavy heart this morning. I thought that my faith would be good enough to bring success to someone I love very much, but found out that my faith wasn’t in the right place. It’s not easy to come to that discovery, but it turned out to be something so sweet that my disappointment was short-lived.
Success according to the world isn’t God’s purpose and it never was. I’ve known that but allowed my flesh to continue to try to build on that lie anyway. Success is fulfilling your purpose in life. My purpose is to help bring those close to me closer to God and show them that they’re purpose is to be God’s light in this world. A couple of days ago I had a phrase pop into my head, “God’s Glory Shines Through Me”. I tried to build on that but still with the falsehood of having the world’s definition of success somehow be that light instead of my actions and show of love for others. This morning, after a very disappointing yesterday, the truth was made completely known to me. The light I show is that God is number one in my life and I am so happy loving Him, that whatever happens in my life, I am still satisfied because I’m so grateful for what God has already done for me. He saved me. How can I expect anything more when I already have the ultimate prize? There is nothing more, but the world would have me believe otherwise.
1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 says, “Be joyful always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus”. It says it there, plain as day, but we continue to be deceived.
I refuse to be deceived anymore.
It may not be easy, but I am determined to go through each day with this perspective. God loves me so much that He gave His only Son to save me from eternal death. Death meaning being absent from God. I will not be absent from God because of what He did for me, nothing that I did except receive His gift. I am free to love Him and to live for Him and I don’t have to live for what the world calls success, because I already have the success I need. This is the message I send to everyone I know. Once that reality hits your heart, everything changes. Thank You God for helping me to grow into that perspective and show me your love through every disappointment I may go through. You are God and there is nothing in existence that can compare to You.

Leave a Reply

