Destiny

What is my purpose for being here? I think we all have that thought during periods of our lives and sometimes the answer doesn’t seem to be clear, especially when we are dealing with trying situations. I know I sometimes have to take a step back and look at what I’m doing with my days to see if I am truly following the direction I believe God has led me. To be honest, I don’t follow a clear path even though I know where I should be going. It seems like I am taking left turns here and right turns there, just to turn around and see that I haven’t gone very far. When I feel like this, I look to the Word. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths” Proverbs 3:5-6. That’s where I will start.

My relationship with Jesus depends on me. He never changes and He never leaves me, so if I am going through doubts as to whether He is active in my life, it is because I have turned away from Him, even if it’s only a little. My best days are when I reflect on His awesome grace and mercy for me, because I deserve to burn. It’s then that I can really appreciate His activity in my life, even if I don’t feel it outright. I look back on my past and then I can see clearly where He has intervened for me, and my heart melts. Those are the days when I am confronted with His purpose for my life (and everyone else’s).

Matthew 28: 19-20 says: “Go, therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you, and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Mark 16:15 says: And He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.”

Luke 10:2 says: Then He said to them, “The harvest truly is great, but the laborers are few; therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.”

John 21:15-17 says: So when they had eaten breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me more than these?” He said to Him, “Yes Lord; You know that I love You.” He said to him, “Feed My lambs.” He said to him again a second time, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?” He said to Him, “Yes, Lord; You know that I love You. “Tend My sheep.” He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?” Peter was grieved because He said to him the third time, “Do you love Me?” And he said to Him, “Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You” Jesus said to him, “Feed My sheep.”

I believe these commands from Jesus spell it out very clearly, we are to tell everyone we know about Jesus. He doesn’t give us the steps on how to do it, He just tells us to do it. I think He trusts us to trust in the Holy Spirit to guide us on how to it, because everyone is different and if one method of witnessing for Christ works on one person, it may not be the same for another. That’s where the Holy Spirit comes in to guide us because He knows everyone’s heart and what they are receptive to. More than anything, our daily lives are the greatest witness to others and if we are wishy-washy in our actions from day to day, we will not lead anyone to Him. So the final scripture that I am learning to lean on is this: Hebrews 12:12-15 Therefore, strengthen the hands which hang down, and the feeble knees, and make straight paths for your feet, so that what is lame may not be dislocated, but rather be healed: Pursue peace with all people, and holiness, without which no one will see the Lord: looking carefully lest anyone fall short of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up cause trouble, and by this many become defiled;”

It’s a daily battle with the influences of the world to maintain focus on our love for Jesus. That’s a fact, but when we are sure of the purpose of our lives, it helps us to stay on that path where He is leading us. It’s His greatest desire to have individual relationships with us. Amazing, isn’t it? The greatest, most powerful being ever loves us that much wants to be in our lives forever. How can we not tell everyone about this wonderful news? That’s our purpose. That’s our destiny.

Leave a Reply

