It’s All A Misunderstanding

The older I get, the more I observe what’s really going on around me. I remember back to my high school days when I was focused on achieving my “freedom”. You know what I mean, free from being under my parents’ thumb? I didn’t want to go to school, because that would mean I would have to think, and in the mood to think. I wanted to party. Plain and simple. I believed that if I worked a job, paid my rent, then the rest of my time I could spend on “partying” because that was the only way I knew how to have fun (I know a few teenagers like this today).
When I was 22, God put a person in my life who showed me that my focus was in the wrong place. This person didn’t know it, and still doesn’t, but he redirected my focus back towards my faith and my REAL purpose on this earth. He helped me see that my life is an example to others and what I choose to do with my time will reflect on the quality of my life. 20 years ago, it was learning how to become a mother and wife. (Yea, I’m still learning that one, but I’m better than I used to be!) Now, it’s learning how to put others before me and being perceptive their needs and how I can help.
Putting others before me is not very easy in this world we live in. I have to concentrate on other things besides myself for starters. What I have learned, is to first put God in the forefront of my mind every minute of every day and not how I’m feeling or what I have to do that day. We are bombarded with messages either through the advertising on the television or on billboards telling us what we need for ourselves to make us happy or feel better. It is so easy to get sucked into those messages and believe that we are missing something that only can be provided by that product. You know what I mean. Do I really need that Mercedes to get me from point A to point B because I need to travel in luxury? The answer is no, I don’t. After all, where am I going? The grocery store? If I have any type of vehicle that will get to and from where I need to go, THAT is luxury because it allows me to ride instead of walk! I’m not trying to make a statement to others about my “perceived” success. I am trying to get somewhere to accomplish some other purpose (like buying groceries for my family to eat).
You see, it’s all a misunderstanding. We misunderstand that our purpose and ultimately the way to live a joyful life is to help others who may not have the means to survive. I am much happier when I have the energy to go to my 93 year old friend’s house and clean it for her because she is no longer physically able to do so. I’m essentially helping her to live the rest of her life in a clean environment and maybe even helping her stay healthy, JUST BY VACUUMING! How cool is that? Nope, life isn’t a “party” for me any more, at least not in the sense that it was when I was 22 years old. My party is watching others I come into contact with smile because of something I have done for them. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

