Go Judge Yourself!

My opinion means nothing. What a great way to start a paragraph that you hope others might read and appreciate, huh? But it’s true. My opinion has nothing to do with truth. It’s only an opinion, but when we observe people in everyday life, we observe how they feel obligated to share their opinion in just about every subject. If we’re not careful, we could take someone’s opinion as the truth and make decisions based on that misconception: BIG MISTAKE. I believe it happens all the time. When we cast an opinion, a lot of times we are actually casting judgment on something we don’t know all of the facts. Matthew 7:1-2 “Judge not, that you not be judged. For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you”.
First, what is judgment, anyway? Well, it depends on your intentions. Are you condemning or passing sentence on someone or his/her actions? Or are you examining something as to what it truly is, whether it’s good for you or not? Looking at it this way, we must realize that we need to judge things to decide if they will be beneficial for us or not. Like eating an apple versus eating a cheeseburger. Which is really better? But, we are not qualified to condemn anyone of their faults or mistakes, even if they are intentional. We think we are, but in reality, we are just as guilty as the worst offender we can think of. Matthew 7: 3-5 states that we must judge ourselves if we are going to be of any help to others. We usually see fault in others while we possess the same fault without even realizing it.
Matthew 5:21-22 “You have heard that it was said to those of old ‘You shall not murder’; and ‘whoever murders will be in danger of the judgment (condemnation)’. But I say to you that whoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment (condemnation). And whoever says to his brother, ‘Raca’! shall be in danger of the council. But whoever says ‘You fool!’ shall be in danger of hell fire!”
I believe it’s interesting how we don’t seem to have any problems with being angry with others over things that we ourselves could probably have prevented. We think we need to control everything in order for things to go right. I don’t know about you, but when I’m in control, I find I lose it very easily. I love what Romans 1:18-32 has to say.
People who know God’s righteousness, who refuse to glorify Him for His creation and His continued sustenance. Instead, they choose to live according to the flesh, even going to the extreme as to believing they know best and then living the complete opposite of God’s wisdom. God, in turn ‘gave them up to uncleanness” – to “dishonor their bodies among themselves”. So, we turn our backs on God, even thought we don’t admit it, and decide to live our lives according to what we think is best. God does exactly what I believe He wishes we would do: He allows us to do what we think we need to do. What I mean is, if we just stopped and allowed God to do His thing in our lives, we wouldn’t have to worry all the time and we might even find ourselves finding joy in things that we never had time to notice before! What we haven’t allowed to penetrate into our thick skulls is this:
Romans 2:1-3 Therefore you are inexcusable, O man, whoever you are who judge, for in whatever you judge another you condemn yourself; for you who judge practice the same things, But we know that the judgment of God is according to truth against those who practice such things.
Well, duh! Of course we do the same things! What I find amusing is that we always have a “good excuse” for the things we do while we are condemning others for doing it too. Hey, my excuse is just as bad as theirs, and we are all going to end up answering for it!
That’s why I say, let’s judge ourselves. I mean really step aside and look at the things we do and say. Do I tell my neighbor I’m going to come over and feed his dog for him while he’s out of town but then forget? Do I promise to show up to work at 8:00am sharp but show up at 8:03? Do I stare at the handsome waiter all dreamy eyed while my husband is busy looking at the menu? What about the time I spend on Facebook? What am I looking at there? It seems innocent on the surface, but get to the heart of it and I see that there is something missing in my life. Forgetfulness is indicative of a lack of integrity. If we are more conscientious of our promises and obligations, we don’t forget as easily what we have promised to do. Easy enough, but in reality, we let the world block our view of what’s really important. I always catch myself in this scenario and that’s when I stop and judge myself. Get’s me back on track every time.

Leave a Reply

