Hello world!

Hello everyone!  My name is Molly.  I have been thinking about blogging for some time now, but have not attempted to do it with any real ferver until now.  There are so many observations I have made throughout my life about why people do things they do and how we all interact with each other.  I find it really interesting that our perceptions tend to get in the way of reality, especially when we put so much emphasis on what the media tells us and apply what is said to our lives.

For instance, we just got through a grueling Presidential campaign that resulted in the re-election of Barack Obama.  I’ve never been a big fan of Democrats, simply because I am completely Pro-Life, but I do believe this group has some good ideas about other subjects, such as our economy and environment.  These good ideas, however, aren’t enough for me because I believe the Republicans also have good ideas about those very same subjects.  Therefore, I did not vote for him.  Having said that, I was on the verge of shocked when I saw the many posts on Facebook by “friends” that either hailed his re-election or lamented it.  Those who were happy were sometimes less than gracious, especially to those who were unhappy with the outcome.  Many posts completely disrespected the Republican party as a whole while others were knocking Mr. Romney down as an idiot.  What I realized immediately, is that none of those “friends” of mine actually know either Obama or Romney, and many of them did not do the investigative studying of their political pasts that might enlighten them to their real motivation in politics.

My “friends” who voted for Romney were quick to say how our country is doomed.  Many people even started petitions on our government’s website for their states’ independence from the union.  The first thing I thought was, “What is going on?  Is there something about our government that I am unaware of?”  Then I thought, wait.  Our government is based on how our country votes, and apparently our country voted in favor of Obama.  While there may be some questions as to the truth of the number of votes each candidate had, the result remains the same.  So, it is my obligation to support my country and the President who is in power.  This decision does not mean that I accept the way our government is run.  So, I decided to sign one of those petitions.  Not because I want my state to remove itself from the United States, but to try to gain the attention of those in our government that the way things have been run is not in the best interest of all our citizens.

We are still a Republic and We still have a voice, even if the elections are over.  We do not have to lie down and allow the government to do the same things over and over.  This Debt Ceiling that is looming is just another tactic for our government to find a way to go back to “business as usual”.  I’m not saying it doesn’t exist, but I believe the problem has been covered up long enough.  There has always been a debt ceiling, but our govenment continues to raise it in order to continue borrowing.  I don’t know about you, but unless I have the most excellent credit rating achievable, my bank will not raise my credit limit at all.  The last time I looked, our government’s credit rating is less than excellent ( http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/06/us-usa-debt-downgrade-idUSTRE7746VF20110806).

I won’t go into more, but this is one example of the many things I have observed.  I have a feeling I am not the only one.

Thanks for reading!  Any comment is welcome, however I would like to remind anyone who is tempted to post a comment that while we are all free to our own opinions, sometimes we should keep them to ourselves.  I reserve the right to delete any comment that uses obscene language, berate other people and their cultures or make suggestive comments that could lead to harm.  I believe there is a way to make our opinions known without hurting others.

Leave a Reply

